Book of Mormon Map

I just barely finished this monster of a commission for Firm LDS Foundation. It took a lot of work getting in all the details in the right places, but it was absolutely fulfilling to do. It may all be in one image, but what it felt like to me was 35+ little illustrations all in one.  Zoom up and see if you don’t believe me!
About this map . . .
It illustrates which some call the “heartland theory” of The Book of Mormon, which is that all the events took place in North America. I grew up imagining that the Book of Mormon events took place in Central America (and I think this is the more common conception), so when I first received this assignment, I was a little wary.  After I spoke to my commissioner for some time, however, I came to the conclusion that it doesn’t matter where The Book of Mormon took place, as long as my art is helping people to think more about it. My commissioner explained that they aren’t trying to declare with absolute surety that this is fact. It is just a theory that deserves consideration (and he actually did present a lot of convincing evidence).
I’m happy to do art that is uplifting and inspiring, and that’s that. I also love that I was able to illustrate more modern day events from the Restoration of the church and the founding of the United States as well. I hope you too can enjoy commemorating these events and remembering that we truly do live in a promised land.
*prints are available

NA Land of Promise (smaller)

About sisterweber

I am currently a Mormon missionary serving in western New York for The Church of Jesus Chirst of Latter-Day Saints! Let me tell you how strange I am currently - I don't watch tv or any form of entertainment; I left behind my family, home, school, and art I love so so much; I'm working 6 days a week, 14 hours a day to bring people unto Christ; I'm not getting paid (I'm actually paying); and I CHOSE to do it! The reason why? I know this is the most important thing I could ever do. I know that there is nothing in all the world that can bring people greater happiness than the Gospel of Jesus Christ in its fulness. This message I'm sharing with people is unique and true. God loves all of us so much that He has restored the church Jesus Christ set up onto the earth again, and all people have a right to know. Everyone has a right to be as happy as I am.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book of Mormon Map

  1. Gary says:

    Hi, we are interested in a print of your awesome map. Let us know how to get one.

    • sisterweber says:

      Hi Gary. Thanks for your interest! I only have two prints left for sale – a 30×40 for $60 (not including shipping) or a 20×32 for $40. If these sizes don’t work for you, you can also go to http://www.worksofjoseph.com/brooke-malia-mann/
      to buy more. Hope that helps! If you can let me know in the next day if you would like me to sell you one that would be wonderful.

Leave a Reply

