Joseph Smith: The Prophet of the Restoration

This was a painting I did in one of my painting from life classes I had this last semester. It just so happened that the model walked in wearing this cool outfit that looked just like what Joseph Smith might have worn! So, put a farm in the background and voila!                                   I know from serving a mission that many, many people have heard of the name “Joseph Smith” before, but the majority of those people don’t actually know who he was. Some have heard rumors, and others actually have a great respect for the guy, but all of them are at least a little curious to learn more. How can you not be when over 14 million members of the mormon church are talking about him and revere him so much? First thing I want to point out is that we do not worship him – he was just a man. We only worship God and His son Jesus Christ. We do believe that Joseph was a great person who did a lot for the world though.  For over a thousand years after the death of Christ and his disciples there was no prophet on the earth.  The earth was in a state of “famine” (see Amos 8:11-12). However, in 1820 a simple farm boy prayed to know which church to join, and that humble prayer is what changed the world. Joseph took the challenge James offered in James 1:5,  and Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ themselves told him not to join any of the churches. From then on, young Joseph acted as an instrument in the Lord’s hands to bring back the true order of the Church of Jesus Christ. He was called to be the first prophet of these latter days and helped organize Christ’s very own church to the earth.  I have come to know that these things are true through the power of the Holy Ghost. I’m not ashamed to pronounce what I believe because it makes me as happy as I could ever be.  Please pray as Joseph did to know what is true.
About sisterweber

I am currently a Mormon missionary serving in western New York for The Church of Jesus Chirst of Latter-Day Saints! Let me tell you how strange I am currently - I don't watch tv or any form of entertainment; I left behind my family, home, school, and art I love so so much; I'm working 6 days a week, 14 hours a day to bring people unto Christ; I'm not getting paid (I'm actually paying); and I CHOSE to do it! The reason why? I know this is the most important thing I could ever do. I know that there is nothing in all the world that can bring people greater happiness than the Gospel of Jesus Christ in its fulness. This message I'm sharing with people is unique and true. God loves all of us so much that He has restored the church Jesus Christ set up onto the earth again, and all people have a right to know. Everyone has a right to be as happy as I am.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

