Our Example – etch a sketch, June 2011

I picked up this Etch A Sketch at a garage sale the other day. It was a dollar – a very worthwhile buy (especially since I sit in the backseat of a van all my days long and can play with it as we travel from home to home to teach people the gospel). While on my mission I want everything I do to help me in my purpose to invite others to come unto Christ. In order to do that, yesterday I decided to try etching something other than dragons and animals and tried a picture of the most important man who has ever walked this earth – Jesus Christ.  Before I embark on an artpiece though, I always try to picture the end goal in my mind. In my mind Christ was not on a cross suffering, he was not in Gethsemane bleeding, he was simply smiling at us.  It is true that the Atonement he had to bear is marked by incredible pain, but behind it all was love. Love was his motive and purpose. The Savior knew his purpose was to die for the world, and the only reason why he did it willingly was because he loved his Father and each of us that much. “Greater alove hath no man than this, that a man lay down his blife for his cfriends” (St. John 15:13).  As Latter-Day Saints instead of focusing on his death, we try to focus more on his love and the fact that he is risen and lives. Christ fulfilled his purpose. He was full of love all of his days. I know that love is the most powerful emotion in the world and to be full of it while doing God’s will brings the greatest amount of joy.  If this is so, there isn’t a being that ever lived more happy than him. So I guess that is why when I pictured the Savior for this picture, I saw him smiling.
About sisterweber

I am currently a Mormon missionary serving in western New York for The Church of Jesus Chirst of Latter-Day Saints! Let me tell you how strange I am currently - I don't watch tv or any form of entertainment; I left behind my family, home, school, and art I love so so much; I'm working 6 days a week, 14 hours a day to bring people unto Christ; I'm not getting paid (I'm actually paying); and I CHOSE to do it! The reason why? I know this is the most important thing I could ever do. I know that there is nothing in all the world that can bring people greater happiness than the Gospel of Jesus Christ in its fulness. This message I'm sharing with people is unique and true. God loves all of us so much that He has restored the church Jesus Christ set up onto the earth again, and all people have a right to know. Everyone has a right to be as happy as I am.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

