Church Historic Sites – ink and watercolor, November 2010

Test your knowledge of Palmyra, New York! See how many you can recognize on the map: the Hill Cumorah Visitor’s Center, the Book of Mormon Publication Site, the Palmyra Temple, the Joseph Smith Farm and Sacred Grove, the Palmyra Stake Center, and the Four Corner Churches (the answers are penciled in).
What an honor it was to be asked to make a map for the sacred sites! With some simple tools I made this map for all the visitors that pass through Palmyra.  Many people come from all over the world to this little farm town simply to feel the spirit of the place where the very church of Jesus Christ was restored.  There is so much to see in this humble town and all are always welcome to come for free tours- 365 days of the year! Pretty incredible if you ask me.
 The Hill Cumorah Visitor’s Center rests at the foot of the hill where the young prophet, Joseph Smith, uncovered the ancient record that became The Book of Mormon. Inside one can always find a smiling representative happy to tell you more and point you in the right direction to the top of the hill where a beautiful monument of the Angel Moroni sits. 
The Book of Mormon Publication Site is the very shop where the book was first printed, bound, and sold in 1830.  Visitors can see how a press from the 19th century worked and how a book was put together. Right down the street is the famous Four Corner churches. There’s a different sect on every corner reminiscent to the religious confusion during Joseph Smith’s time.
The Joseph Smith Farm is by far the most widely visited. It is where Joseph was living with his family from 1818-1827 and the site of the Sacred Grove (see my drawing below!!!).  Visitors can walk through the log home (where he was living when he had the First Vision and was first visited by Moroni) as well as the Frame Home (the residency when the plates were acquired). 
. . . SHEESH! There’s just so much just go visit the places yourself!
About sisterweber

I am currently a Mormon missionary serving in western New York for The Church of Jesus Chirst of Latter-Day Saints! Let me tell you how strange I am currently - I don't watch tv or any form of entertainment; I left behind my family, home, school, and art I love so so much; I'm working 6 days a week, 14 hours a day to bring people unto Christ; I'm not getting paid (I'm actually paying); and I CHOSE to do it! The reason why? I know this is the most important thing I could ever do. I know that there is nothing in all the world that can bring people greater happiness than the Gospel of Jesus Christ in its fulness. This message I'm sharing with people is unique and true. God loves all of us so much that He has restored the church Jesus Christ set up onto the earth again, and all people have a right to know. Everyone has a right to be as happy as I am.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

