The Sacred Grove – felt pen and colored pencils, October 2010

This is a sketch done with felt pen and colored pencils I did for my father’s birthday in October.  It shows what we call the Sacred Grove.  This grove of trees that anyone can visit and walk through is located in Palmyra, New York and is considered the second most sacred place in the world after Gethsemane . . . at least for members of our church.  The reason? Because in the spring of 1820 a young boy named Joseph Smith went into this grove of trees, after having read James 1:5, to ask God which church was true.  In his own words he said:  “I saw a pillar of light exactly over my head, above the brightness of the sun, which descended gradually until it fell upon me. . . When the light rested upon me I saw two Personages, whose brightness and glory defy alll description, standing above me in the air.  One of them spake unto me, calling me by name and said, pointing to the other – This is My Beloved Son. Hear Him!” 
The reason why this grove is called sacred and is designated as the second most holy place in the world is because God and Jesus Christ actually appeared here.  They told him he shouldn’t join any the churches because none of them had the fulness of the gospel of Jesus Christ.  No one can walk through these trees and not feel the holy spirit because it really did happen.  It’s such a privilege we can go there ourselves and experience a little of what a curious boy once experienced on one spring day.
About sisterweber

I am currently a Mormon missionary serving in western New York for The Church of Jesus Chirst of Latter-Day Saints! Let me tell you how strange I am currently - I don't watch tv or any form of entertainment; I left behind my family, home, school, and art I love so so much; I'm working 6 days a week, 14 hours a day to bring people unto Christ; I'm not getting paid (I'm actually paying); and I CHOSE to do it! The reason why? I know this is the most important thing I could ever do. I know that there is nothing in all the world that can bring people greater happiness than the Gospel of Jesus Christ in its fulness. This message I'm sharing with people is unique and true. God loves all of us so much that He has restored the church Jesus Christ set up onto the earth again, and all people have a right to know. Everyone has a right to be as happy as I am.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Sacred Grove – felt pen and colored pencils, October 2010

  1. Freda weber says:

    I use this picture all the time when I teach lessons about the restoration of the church. It’s perfect and everyone is so awed by the beauty of the Sacred Grove! You captured the feeling of wonder and sacredness of where it all began!

Leave a Reply

